Using Contexts in Prime MultiView 
 
You don't need to use contexts to take advantage of MultiView -- if you don't define one everything will get stored in the default context of "default" -- but as you get used to them they can simplify your tasks. 
 
Contexts keep all of your assessment settings separate. If you find, for example, that you need to change deviation profile rules back and forth to get the right combination of results you are looking for, you can instead make each edit once and save them as part of differing contexts. Switching a context is as simple as selecting the Switch Context option from the Contexts main menu and selecting the new context you want. The interface will immediately reset itself to the state it was in when you last used that context. 
 
Contexts not only keep all your assessment settings separate, they also isolate the generated results files and authentication information. This is especially useful for security consultants and auditors where it is essential to keep this information separate, but can also help with other situations. For example, if you do assessments in multiple locations that all internally use the same non-routable IP address ranges but different authentication information, that would be a difficult rule set to create in the Authentication Manager and could results in side affects such as trying multiple credentials on targets and locking accounts. So, instead, create a separate context for each location and give each a meaningful name. Now you just need to select the context for your location, click the Start button, and you're off and running. The context will even save the details of the last assessment you ran under that context, so if it was a network scan for a limitied IP range, that's what will be ready to run the next time you switch to that context. 
 
If you don't define any contexts the system will save all of your current settings under a context named "default". You can use the menu option Contexts --> Manage Contexts to rename this at any time if you need to. You can also use Manage Contexts to remove a context, but it should be noted then when you remove a context, all you are doing is removing the definition of that context from the interface -- all of the results generated under that context are still on the file system (the default location for assessment results will be under a directory named "Secutor" in the documents directory for your user account. The actual documents directory varies depending on the operating system. Check the Base Directory setting in the Context Settings tool to find where that context is saving results files). 
 
To create a new context, use the menu option Contexts --> Create Context. You will be prompted for a context name and the application will switch to your new context, resetting all assessment settings to their defaults. From then on any setting you change or assessment history point will be created under that context and available the next time you switch to it. 
 
It's also not always necessary to create a new context. For example, each assessment types saves up to 12 of the most recent assessment actions. If you find yourself repeatedly doing the same few network assessments, just use the History slider under the Network Action type to jump between assessment definitions. For each history item you can use the Preserve checkbox to keep that entry from being overwritten if you exceed 12 history points.